Banner image

30 Years of Gravity Research in Australasia:
Past Reflections and Future Ambitions

Essential Information

When: Monday 2nd and Tuesday 3rd September, 2024.

Where: Australian National University, Canberra, Australia.

Registration: no fee, register at this link, closes 15th July, 2024.

Getting Here: Canberra is 3-4 hours drive from Sydney, and is serviced by domestic Australian flights, as well as international connections through major Australian cities. Accommodation options near to the Australian National University campus are:

First Announcement

In September 1994, a group of mathematicians and physicists founded the Australasian Society for General Relativity and Gravitation (ASGRG) at a meeting in Canberra, Australia. This year, we are celebrating the 30-year anniversary of ASGRG with a 2-day conference, on Monday 2nd and Tuesday 3rd September, 2024. The conference will be hosted by the Australian National University, Canberra, Australia.

The conference will have 2 themes. In Past Reflections, we will look back over the last 30 years, and how Australasia has contributed to research in general relativity and gravitation. In Future Ambitions, we will look forward to the next 30 years, and opportunities for continued success in general relativity and gravitational research in Australasia. Interested participants are welcome to submit proposals for a talk on either or both of these themes.

The conference is open to everyone, and we welcome participation from both members and non-members of ASGRG. (We encourage anyone interested in general relativity and gravitational research in Australasia to join ASGRG at this link.)

There is no registration fee for the event. Lunch and morning/afternoon tea will be provided to registered participants. A conference dinner will be organised for the Monday evening, which participants will need to pay for themselves.

Please register for the conference at this link. Registration will close on 15th July, 2024.

We look forward to celebrating ASGRG’s 30th anniversary with you in Canberra!


Program Organising Committee: Malcolm Anderson (Universiti Brunei Darussalam), Carl Blair (University of Western Australia), Krzysztof Bolejko (University of Tasmania), Jörg Frauendiener (University of Otago), Susan Scott (Australian National University), Chris Stevens (University of Canterbury), Karl Wette (Australian National University).

Local Organising Committee: Sareh Rajabi, Susan Scott, Karl Wette.